Return to Headlines

Safety Patrol Awards

The annual Safety Patrol Ceremony took place on May 23 at the Youth Activity Center. The event is hosted by the Santa Clara Police Department and sponsored by AAA. It recognizes students for their participation and acknowledges the school site safety patrol coordinators. Each school honors two students who demonstrate outstanding performance as safety patrollers.

“Thank you Jeanette Erlendsen (school site safety patrol coordinator) for all the dedication and hard work you put into the logistical planning and scheduling to start the program at Pomeroy,” said Pomeroy Principal Christy Chalfant. “And to Holli (school support teacher on special assignment) for supporting the monthly meetings and implementation of the after school shifts.”

Every year, two schools receive the Cheif's Award — this year, it was Pomeroy Elementary and Central Park Elementary. Pomeroy was awarded for improving safety at pick up and drop off both on Pomeroy Ave and in the parking lot, as well as increased pedestrian safety in the parking lot. Central Park was recognized for the great work students did while navigating difficult situations during construction on the campus.

Thank you to everyone for helping to keep our students safe.