Return to Headlines

Announcement on Apparent Passage of Measure BB and Elected Board Members

Dear Community Members,

While the election results must be certified by the Registrar of Voters and we are still pending absentee, mail-in, and provisional ballots being counted, it looks abundantly clear that Measure BB has been resoundingly supported by the SCUSD voting community.

In addition, the election results so far would suggest that Jodi Muirhead will continue on the board and that Vickie Fairchild will join the board of trustees for her first term. Uncontested incumbents Andrew Ratermann and Jim Canova will also remain on the board. Noelani Pearl Hunt chose not to run for reelection. At the December Board Meeting, there will be a swearing-in ceremony followed by the Board of Trustees determining who the clerk, vice president, and president will be.

With 100% of precincts reporting, Measure BB, a general obligation bond in the amount of $720 million, is passing with 65.24% voting in favor.

SCUSD would like to thank all voters who took time to vote on Measure BB. We are confident that the funds derived from this passage will serve the students of SCUSD for generations, just as the funds that built the schools of the 1950s and 1960s have. Since that time, our community has passed bond measures that have added new classrooms, new schools, and modernized existing schools. This new bond measure will address supporting a safe and positive learning environment and will build new schools that address growth in our district. All of this is a wonderful investment in our children, the future of our local and global society.

Finally, we would like to thank all those responsible for placing Measure BB on the ballot and those who contributed their time, talents, and treasure to ensure its passage, including our Governing Board. Our students will benefit from your efforts. Congratulations!

Visit the Measure BB webpage to find out more information about the transformative changes this measure will have on our district.


Stanley Rose, Ed.D.

Stanley Rose III, Ed.D.