State Assessments

  • California Assessment of Student Performance (CAASPP)

    On September 27, 2017, the state made public the 2017 results of the California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP). Our district leaders and school principals have had access to results since mid-June. We have been using the 2017 test results as well as 3-year trend results, as one data source for planning and adjustments to the local control to area plan (LCAP) and school site plans (SPSA's).

    View school-wide, district, county and state-wide results here. If you have a student currently in grades 4-9, or grade 12, you should have received your child's individual results in the mail in late August.


    English Language Proficiency Assessment for California (ELPAC)

    The ELPAC will be the successor to the California English Language Development Test (CELDT). The CELDT is the current required state test for English language proficiency that must be given to students whose primary language is other than English.

    Learn more about ELPAC


    California High School Proficiency Exam (CHSPE)

    The California High School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE) is a testing program established by California law (Education Code Section 48412). If eligible to take the test, high school students can earn the legal equivalent of a high school diploma by passing the CHSPE. The CHSPE consists of two sections: an English-language Arts section and a Mathematics section. Students passing both sections of the CHSPE, the California State Board of Education are awarded a Certificate of Proficiency, which by state law is equivalent to a high school diploma (although not equivalent to completing all coursework required for regular graduation from high school). Although federal agencies are not bound by state laws, the U.S. Office of Personnel Management has ruled that the Certificate of Proficiency shall be accepted in applications for federal civilian employment. The U.S. Department of Education and Federal Student Aid recognize the CHSPE as the equivalent of a high school diploma in applications for federal financial aid. All persons and institutions subject to California law that require a high school diploma for any purpose must accept the certificate as satisfying the requirement.

    Passing the CHSPE does not, by itself, exempt minors from attending school. Minors who have a Certificate of Proficiency must also have verified parent/guardian permission to stop attending school. Many students who pass the CHSPE continue to attend school. State law provides that, students who leave school after passing the CHSPE and are no more than 18 years old, may re-enroll in the district in which they were registered with no adverse consequences.

    Students who do re-enroll may be required to meet new or additional requirements established since they were previously enrolled. If a student re-enrolls and then leaves school again, they may be denied re-admittance until the beginning of the following semester. Contact your guidance counselor or school administrator for further information and details about leaving school after passing the CHSPE.
    Dropping out of school after registering for the CHSPE or while awaiting results is unlawful for those under 18 years old.  It may also result in failing grades for courses in which they are enrolled.

    Learn more about CHSPE

    Physical Fitness Test (PFT)

    The physical fitness test (PFT) for students in California schools is the FITNESSGRAM®. The main goal of the test is to help students to begin life-long habits of regular physical activity. Students in grades five, seven, and nine take the fitness test. The test has six parts that show a level of fitness that offers a degree of defense against diseases that come from inactivity.

    Learn more about PFT

    National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)

    The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is a measure of student achievement that allows you to compare the performance of students in the State with that of students across the nation or in other states. It is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

    The NAEP tests students in grades four, eight, and twelve in subjects such as reading, writing, math, and science. Most school districts are required to take part in NAEP, but it is voluntary at the student level. A small number of schools are required to take part in the test.

    Learn more about NAEP