Board of Trustees Homepage

  • The Santa Clara Unified School District Board of Trustees is comprised of seven members, elected at large to serve 4-year terms.

    Citizen oversight of local government is the cornerstone of democracy in the United States. School board members are locally elected public officials entrusted with governing a community’s public schools. The role of the school board is to ensure that school districts are responsive to the values, beliefs, and priorities of their communities. Boards fulfill this role by performing five major responsibilities:

    • Setting direction
    • Establishing an effective and efficient structure
    • Providing support
    • Ensuring accountability
    • Providing community leadership as advocates for children, the school district, and public schools

    These five responsibilities represent core functions that are so fundamental to a school system’s accountability to the public that they can only be performed by an elected governing body. Authority is granted to the board as a whole, not each member individually. Therefore, board members fulfill these responsibilities by working together as a governance team with the superintendent to make decisions that will best serve all the students in the community.

Board Members

  • Jodie Muirhead           Board Vice President Vickie Fairchild  

    Bonnie Lieberman Board Clerk           Board Member Jim Canova  

    Board Member Albert Gonzalez           Board Member Andrew Ratermann      

    Board Member Michele Ryan PhD

Contact Information


Upcoming Board Meetings

View Calendar