Board of Trustees Homepage

  • The Santa Clara Unified School District Board of Trustees is  comprised of seven members, elected at large to serve 4-year terms.

    Citizen oversight of local government is the cornerstone of democracy in the United States. School board members are locally elected public officials entrusted with governing a community’s public schools. The role of the school board is to ensure that school districts are responsive to the values, beliefs and priorities of their communities. Boards fulfill this role by performing five major responsibilities:

    • Setting direction
    • Establishing an effective and efficient structure
    • Providing support
    • Ensuring accountability
    • Providing community leadership as advocates for children, the school district and public schools

    These five responsibilities represent core functions that are so fundamental to a school system’s accountability to the public that they can only be performed by an elected governing body. Authority is granted to the board as a whole, not each member individually. Therefore, board members fulfill these responsibilities by working together as a governance team with the superintendent to make decisions that will best serve all the students in the community.

    Jim Canova 

    Board Member
    Term Ends: November 2022
    Trustee Area 1
    (408) 423-2006
    jcanova@scusd.net

    Albert Gonzalez

    Board Member
    Term Ends: November 2020
    Trustee Area 2
    (408) 246-6252
    asgonzalez@scusd.net

    Jodi Muirhead

    Board Vice President
    Term Ends: November 2022
    Trustee Area 2
    (408) 444-6160
    jmuirhead@scusd.net

    Vickie Fairchild

    Board Member
    Term Ends: November 2022
    Trustee Area 2
    (408) 408-423-2006
    vjfairchild@scusd.net

    Andrew Ratermann 

    Board Member
    Term Ends: November 2022
    Trustee Area 3 
    (408) 423-2006
    aratermann@scusd.net

    Mark Richardson

    Board Clerk
    Term Ends: November 2020
    Trustee Area 2
    (408) 423-2006
    mrichardson@scusd.net

    Michele Ryan, Ph.D. 

    Board President
    Term Ends: November 2020
    Trustee Area 3 
    (408) 673-1620
    mryan@scusd.net

Contact

  • Cory Sanfilippo
    Executive Assistant to the Superintendent and Board of Trustees
    (408) 423-2006
    csanfilippo@scusd.net

Upcoming Board Meetings

View Calendar