State Assessments

  • State Testing 2021-2022

    • Initial ELPAC testing window for the 2021-2022 school year is July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2022.
    • The 2021-2022 Summative ELPAC window will be February 1, 2022 through June 30, 2022.  
    • English learner students with severe disabilities will take the Alternate ELPAC.  The tesing window will be open from November 1, 2021 through February 15, 2022.
    • CAASPP ELA and Math expected to resume for Grades 5, 8, and 11 in Spring 2022.  Science is expected to resume for Grades 5, 8, and High School in Spring 2022.

    State Testing 2020-2021

    • Initial ELPAC testing window fpr the 2020-2021 school year opened July 1, 2020.
    • The 2020-2021 Summative ELPAC window opened on February 1, 2021.  Most Summative ELPAC testing is being conducted remotely.  Summative ELPAC testing will continue until complete, or until the window closes on July 30, 2021.
    • Teachers of English learner students with severe disabilities will administer the local alternative EL assessment (CALPS) prior to July 30, 2021.
    • The state of California approved CAASPP state testing flexibility for spring 2021.  SCUSD administered i-Ready Reading and Math Diagnostics to Grades 3-8 and CAASPP ELA and Math to Grade 11 students.  Parents of 3rd-8th grade students were mailed i-Ready in lieu of CAASPP results letters through USPS the first week of June 2021.

    State Testing 2019-2020

    • CAASPP and ELPAC Summative and Initial were suspended in March 2020, therefore there are no CAASPP scores for students who were in Grades 3-8 and 11 during the 2019-2020 school year.
    • Prior to test suspension, Summative ELPAC was completed for 40% of English learners (1,198 students).  

    California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP)

    On January 1, 2014, the California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) System was established.  The primary purpose of the CAASPP System is to assist teachers, administrators, students, and parents by promoting high-quality teaching and learning through the use of a variety of assessment approaches and item types.  The CAASPP consists of the Smarter Balanced Assessments (or the California Alternative Assessments for students with severe disabilities) in Math and English Language Arts for Grades 3-8 and 11.  In addition, the California Science Test (CAST), or Alternative Science Test for students with severe disabilities, is administered to Grades 5, 8, and once in high school.

    Assessment Results  

    View school-wide, district, county, and state-wide results on the CAASPP website.  If you have a student who is currently in Grades 4-9, or Grade 12, your child's electronic results are available through the Aeries Parent Portal online.  For more information about the Aeries Parent Portal, please visit our Aeries Parent Portal webpage.

    English Language Proficiency Assessment for California (ELPAC)

    The English Language Proficiency Assessment for California (ELPAC) is the required state test for English language proficiency (ELP) that must be given to students whose primary language is a language other than English.  State and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of ELP to eligible students in kindergarten through grade twelve. The California Department of Education (CDE) transitioned from the California English Language Development Test (CELDT) to the ELPAC as the state ELP assessment in 2018. The ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards. It consists of two separate ELP assessments: One for the initial identification of students as English learners (ELs), and a second for the annual summative assessment to measure a student's progress in learning English and to identify the student's level of ELP.  Learn more about ELPAC.

    Assessment Results: View school-wide, district, county, and state-wide results on the ELPAC website. If you have a student who is currently in Grades 4-9, or Grade 12, your child's electronic results are available through the Aeries Parent Portal online. For more information about the Aeries Parent Portal, please visit our Aeries Parent Portal webpage.

    Physical Fitness Test (PFT) - Suspended until further notice

    The physical fitness test (PFT) for students in California schools is the FITNESSGRAM®. The main goal of the test is to help students to begin life-long habits of regular physical activity. Students in grades five, seven, and nine take the fitness test. The test has six parts that show a level of fitness that offers a degree of defense against diseases that come from inactivity.  

    Learn more about PFT

    California High School Proficiency Exam (CHSPE)

    The California High School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE) is a testing program established by California law (Education Code Section 48412). If eligible to take the test, high school students can earn the legal equivalent of a high school diploma by passing the CHSPE. The CHSPE consists of two sections: an English-language Arts section and a Mathematics section. Students passing both sections of the CHSPE, the California State Board of Education are awarded a Certificate of Proficiency, which by state law is equivalent to a high school diploma (although not equivalent to completing all coursework required for regular graduation from high school). Although federal agencies are not bound by state laws, the U.S. Office of Personnel Management has ruled that the Certificate of Proficiency shall be accepted in applications for federal civilian employment. The U.S. Department of Education and Federal Student Aid recognize the CHSPE as the equivalent of a high school diploma in applications for federal financial aid. All persons and institutions subject to California law that require a high school diploma for any purpose must accept the certificate as satisfying the requirement.

    Passing the CHSPE does not, by itself, exempt minors from attending school. Minors who have a Certificate of Proficiency must also have verified parent/guardian permission to stop attending school. Many students who pass the CHSPE continue to attend school. State law provides that, students who leave school after passing the CHSPE and are no more than 18 years old, may re-enroll in the district in which they were registered with no adverse consequences.

    Students who do re-enroll may be required to meet new or additional requirements established since they were previously enrolled.  If a student re-enrolls and then leaves school again, they may be denied re-admittance until the beginning of the following semester.  Contact your guidance counselor or school administrator for further information and details about leaving school after passing the CHSPE. Dropping out of school after registering for the CHSPE or while awaiting results is unlawful for those under 18 years old. It may also result in failing grades for courses in which they are enrolled. 

    Learn more about CHSPE

    National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)

    The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is a measure of student achievement that allows you to compare the performance of students in the State with that of students across the nation or in other states. It is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

    The NAEP tests students in grades four, eight, and twelve in subjects such as reading, writing, math, and science. Most school districts are required to take part in NAEP, but it is voluntary at the student level. A small number of schools are required to take part in the test.

    Learn more about NAEP